Gods & Fighting Men: The Story of the Tuatha De Danaan

Sale: $21.56
Save: 20% off

Add to Cart:

Gods and Fighting Men
The Story of the Tuatha De Danaan and
of the Fianna of Ireland,
by Lady Augusta Gregory
Preface by: William Butler Yeats

Book Size 5.5 x 8.5
Pages 608

Gods and Fighting Men

The Story of the Tuatha De Danaan and of the Fianna of Ireland,

by Lady Augusta Gregory


Lady Gregory's book of tales is full of fellowship untroubled like theirs, and made noble by a courtesy that has gone perhaps out of the world. I do not know in literature better friends and lovers. When one of the Fianna finds Osgar dying the proud death of a young man, and asks is it well with him, he is answered, 'I am as you would have me be'. The very heroism of the Fianna is indeed but their pride and joy in one another, their good-fellowship.

~William Butler Yeats

Gods and Fighting Men was first published in 1904, two years after Cuchulain of Muirthemne, and complements that work. It contains the other mythological histories of early Ireland, the stories of Lugh, of Mananaan, the Children of Lir, the coming of the Tuatha de Danaan, as well as those that deal with Oisin, Finn MacCumhal, the Fianna and their exploits, Oisin, and Diarmuid and Grania." (Quote from colinsmythe.co.uk)

Table of Contents:
Preface; Dedication; Preface By W B Yeats; Part I; Book I: Fight With The Firbolgs; Book I: Reign Of Bres; Book ii: The Coming Of Lugh; Book ii: The Sons Of Tuireann; Book iii: The Great Battle Of Magh Tuireadh; Book ii: Hidden House Of Lugh; Book iii: The Landing; Book iii: The Battle Of Tailltin; Book iv: Bodb Deag; Book iv: The Dagda; Book iv: Angus Og; Book iv: The Morrigu; Book iv: Aine; Book iv: Aoibhell; Book iv: Midhir And Etain; Book iv: Manannan; Book iv: Manannan At Play; Book iv: His Call To Bran; Book iv: His Three Calls To Cormac; Book iv: Cliodna's Wave; Book iv: Call To Connla; Book iv: Tadg In Manannan's Islands; Book iv: Laegaire In The Happy Plain; Book V: Fate Of The Children Of Lir; Part ii; Book I: The Coming Of Finn; Book I: Finns Household; Book I: Birth Of Bran; Book I: Oisin's Mother; Book I: The Best Men Of The Fianna; Book ii: The Lad Of The Skins; Book ii: Black, Brown, And Grey; Book ii: The Hound; Book ii: Red Ridge; Book iii: The Enemies Of Ireland; Book iii: Cael And Credhe; Book iii: Conn Crither; Book iii: Glas Son Of Dremen; Book iii: Help Of The Men Of Dea; Book iii: The March Of The Fianna; Book iii: The First Fighters; Book iii: The King Of Ulsters Son; Book iii: The High King's Son; Book iii: The King Of Lochlann And His Sons; Book iii: Labran's Journey; Book iii: The Great Fight; Book iii: Credhe's Lament; Book iv: King Of Britains Son; Book iv: Cave Of Ceiscoran; Book iv: Donn, Son Of Midhir; Book iv: Hospitality Of Cuanna's House; Book iv: Cats Heads And Dog Heads; Book iv: Lomna's Head; Book iv: Illbrec Of Ess Ruadh; Book iv: The Cave Of Cruachan; Book iv: The Wedding At Ceann Slieve; Book iv: The Shadowy One; Book iv: Finn's Madness; Book iv: The Red Woman; Book iv: Finn And The Phantoms; Book iv: The Pigs Of Angus; Book iv: The Hunt Of Slieve Cuilinn; Book V: Oisin's Children; Book vi: Birth Of Diarmuid; Book vi: How Diarmuid Got His Love-spot; Book vi: The Daughter Of King Under-wave; Book vi: The Hard Servant; Book vi: The House Of The Quicken Trees; Book vii: The Flight From Teamhair; Book vii: The Pursuit; Book vii: The Green Champions; Book vii: The Wood Of Dubhros; Book vii: The Quarrel; Book vii: The Wanderers; Book vii: Fighting And Peace; Book vii: The Boar Of Beinn Gulbain; Book viii: Tailc, Son Of Treon; Book viii: Meargach's Wife; Book viii: Ailne's Revenge; Book ix: The Quarrel With The Sons Of Morna; Book ix: Death Of Goll; Book ix: The Battle Of Gabhra; Book X: The Death Of Bran; Book X: The Call Of Oisin; Book X: The Last Of The Great Men; Book xi: Oisin's Story; Book xi: Oisin In Patrick's House; Book xi: The Arguments; Book xi: Oisin's Lament; Notes; Pronunciation And Place Names

  • Shipping Weight: 1.8lbs

This product was added to our catalog on Tuesday 30 September, 2008.

Your IP Address is:
Copyright © 2006-2009 Alexandrian Archives, Inc.